BookNox vs HoneyBook Essentials
BookNox vs HoneyBook Essentials. $29 flat. No upgrade tax.
HoneyBook’s Essentials tier ($49 a month billed yearly, $59 billed monthly) is labeled Most Popular and adds unlimited scheduler sessions, automations, QuickBooks Online integration, up to 2 team members, and removal of the Powered by HoneyBook label over Starter. BookNox is $29 flat with every feature included and no tiers, a $240 a year subscription difference.
| BookNox | HoneyBook Essentials | |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly price | $29 flat | $49 billed yearly / $59 billed monthly |
| Platform fee on payments | 0% | None listed; instant deposit is 1%, pending eligibility |
| Bank transfer (ACH) | 0.8%, capped | 1.5% |
| Workflow automations | No (not in scope) | Yes: Essentials adds this over Starter |
| Scheduler with reminders | Google Calendar sync (one-time OAuth) | Scheduler: 1 session on Starter, unlimited sessions on Essentials |
| White-label / custom branding | Yes: your colors, your fonts, your domain (post-launch) | Essentials adds removal of the Powered by HoneyBook label |
| Team members | Single-vendor focus (collaboration in V2) | Up to 2 (Essentials) / unlimited (Premium) |
| QuickBooks sync | Shipped, not yet proven on a live company | QuickBooks Online integration, listed among Essentials additions over Starter |
| Contracts signed online | Built in, ESIGN/UETA compliant | Built in; its pricing page does not name ESIGN or UETA |
| Where deposits land | Your bank, directly via Stripe Connect | Your bank, after HoneyBook processes the payment and pays it out |
| Mobile apps | Web only (responsive) | A mobile app |
The real cost
What each one costs over 12 months
| BookNox | HoneyBook Essentials | |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription | $348 a year, $29 monthly, every feature included | $588 a year at $49 a month billed yearly, or $708 at $59 a month billed monthly |
| Platform fee on client payments | 0%, you pay your own Stripe directly | None listed on their pricing page, which says there are no hidden fees. Instant deposit costs 1% to access funds faster, pending eligibility |
| Card deposits | About 2.9% + 30c, standard Stripe | Card fees start at 2.7% + 10¢ (their plan table shows fees starting at 2.9% + 25¢); HoneyBook is the processor |
| Bank transfer (ACH) | 0.8%, capped at $5 | 1.5%; their pricing page does not state a cap |
| Where deposits land | Your own bank, directly | HoneyBook processes the payment, then pays it out to you |
HoneyBook Essentials is $588 a year ($708 paid monthly); BookNox is $348 a year flat, a $240 saving on the subscription alone. On payments, cards cost about the same on both. A $10,000 bank transfer costs $5 on your own Stripe (0.8%, capped at $5); HoneyBook's pricing page lists 1.5% for bank transfers and does not state whether it is capped, so ask them what that payment costs.
Compared at each tool's list price. Card processing is roughly the same on both and is not counted as a difference; both charge a standard per payment rate. HoneyBook Essentials also adds automations and unlimited scheduler sessions over Starter (whose scheduler allows 1 session), which BookNox does not have.
HoneyBook figures accurate as of September 22, 2026, from their published pricing page at https://www.honeybook.com/pricing, read in both its billed yearly and billed monthly views (captured: data/rights/captures/watch/honeybook/2026-09-22.txt). BookNox card and bank rates are Stripe's published standard, stripe.com/pricing.
Why vendors switch
One plan, no upgrade tax.
No feature ladder
HoneyBook's Essentials tier adds unlimited scheduler sessions, automations, and QuickBooks Online integration over Starter, whose scheduler allows 1 session. BookNox puts quotes, contracts, payments, and calendar in one $29 plan.
0% platform fee
Deposits and balances land in your own Stripe. BookNox adds nothing on top of the standard processing rate you pay Stripe directly.
$29, billed monthly
No jump to a higher tier to unlock the basics, and no annual prepay for the headline price.
Honest comparison
When HoneyBook Essentials is the better choice.
- You live in workflow automations. Essentials adds the automation engine over Starter. BookNox doesn’t do automations today and the next iteration won’t either.
- You manage a team of 2. Essentials supports a second team member; BookNox is single vendor at launch (multi user collaboration is V2 scope).
- You want a mobile app. HoneyBook offers a mobile app. BookNox is responsive web.
When automation depth and team support justify the extra $240 a year, Essentials is the right call. When they don’t, BookNox keeps the difference in your bank and settles your deposits to your own account.
FAQ
Common questions.
- Is BookNox cheaper than HoneyBook Essentials?
- Yes, on the subscription. BookNox is $29 a month flat ($348 a year) with every feature; HoneyBook Essentials is $49 a month billed yearly ($588 a year, or $708 at $59 a month billed monthly), a $240 yearly difference. On payments both charge a standard processing rate, so cards cost about the same; bank transfers are cheaper on BookNox (0.8% capped at $5 versus 1.5%).
- Does HoneyBook Essentials take a cut of my bookings?
- HoneyBook processes your client payments at its own rates: its pricing page says card fees start at 2.7% plus 10 cents and bank transfers are 1.5%, and it lists instant deposit, to access funds faster, for a 1% fee, pending eligibility. HoneyBook is the payment processor and pays the funds out to you. BookNox charges a 0% platform fee: deposits are Stripe Connect direct charges that land in your own bank.
- Is BookNox a good HoneyBook Essentials alternative?
- Yes if you want flat pricing with no tier ladder and a 0% platform fee. HoneyBook Essentials is the better choice if you rely on its automations, scheduler, or large template library, which BookNox does not have.
- Can I switch from HoneyBook to BookNox?
- Yes. Import your client list into BookNox as a CSV in a couple of minutes. Keep past projects, contracts, and invoices where they are; in BookNox you set up your packages once and point new inquiries at one branded link.
Keep comparing
More comparisons.
Keep $240 a year and pay less on bank transfers.
Set up your packages, send a proposal, and take a real deposit today. $29/month flat, 0% platform fee.
Trademarks mentioned are the property of their respective owners. No affiliation or endorsement is implied.